Sydney was named as the destination for the virtual visit of the ABBA reunion tour

Sydney was named as the destination for the virtual visit of the ABBA reunion tour

SYDNEY, September 3 (Xinhua) -After a 38-year hiatus, the Swedish pop group ABBA announced on Thursday that they would return to the limelight. To the delight of Aussie fans, the band announced that Sydney was among the eight cities around the world to include in their virtual album release.

The album will be released in its entirety in November and will be accompanied by a virtual world tour starting in the UK next year.

To mark the announcement, the iconic Sydney Harbor Bridge was lit up on Thursday night, showing avatars for the four band members.

The Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney in the state of New South Wales, Stuart Ayres, said on Friday that the screening was a fitting recognition of a band as timeless as ABBA.

Ayres said the event will also help position Sydney as a favorite destination when Australia’s international borders eventually reopen.

“The vision of the Sydney Harbor Bridge will be radiated around the world to a massive audience and remind our friends abroad to keep Sydney and NSW high on their minds as a must-visit destination for when international borders reopen,” he said.

ABBA’s return to Sydney marks a return after more than four decades. In 1977, the band performed in Sydney during their Australian tour, the band members have said ever since the city has had a special place in their hearts.

“We could not be happier for Sydney to be a part of our global album launch. Sydney has always been a special city for us and we have wonderful memories of the time we spent in Australia,” says ABBA.

The new album will feature songs “I Still Have Faith in You” and “Don’t Shut Me Down”, but their recognition and popularity may have a hard time stacking up to classic hits. Their most iconic song “Dancing Queen”, released in 1976, topped charts around the world and sold over 3 million copies.

The other cities that will be included in the launch are Berlin, Cape Town, London, New York, Reykjavik, Rio, Stockholm and Tokyo.






Related Posts