The list of Finlandia literary awards was published, half of the candidates are previous winners

The six nominees for the Fiction Finlandia award were announced on Thursday. A three-member jury selected the finalists from about 200 books.

There are first-timers on the list Joel Elstelä, Marjo Niemi and Matias Riikonen, along with previous winners Rosa Liksom, Pirkko Saisio and Jukka Viikilä.

The best known of these is probably Liksom, who won the Finlandia Prize in 2011 for his novel. Title No. 6.

The film based on it won the Grand Prix at this year’s Cannes Film Festival and is Finland’s nominee for the best international feature film at the 94th Oscar Gala.

His latest book was written in meänkieli, a dialect spoken in the Tornio River Valley on both sides of the Finnish – Swedish border where Liksom was born. It tells of a young girl fleeing to Sweden from the destruction of Lapland in the later period of World War II.

No debut nominated

It is rare for so many previous winners to be nominated. Only two writers, Olli Jalonen and late Bo Carpelan has twice won the Finlandia Prize for Fiction.

No first-time works or novels written in Swedish will be nominated this year.

The Finlandia Prize is the most important literary prize in the country, and the winners and nominees are practically guaranteed brisk sales during Christmas. The value of the prize is 30,000 euros.

This year, the winner will be chosen by a film director Zaida Bergroth, director of a recent biography Tove.

Last year, Anni Kytömäki won the Finlandia Prize for his novel Margarita.

In 1984-1992, the prize was awarded to works in any field of literature, but since then it has only been distributed in novels published in Finnish or occasionally in Swedish.

In the same year, the rules were changed so that the final winner would be chosen by one judge from among the 5-6 books proposed by the three-member panel.

The final judge may not be aware of his connection to the literature, as judges include other arts, business leaders, and former politicians — even the ex-president’s spouse.

The winners of the fiction and other Finlandia awards will be announced on Wednesday 1 December at an awards ceremony at Yle TV1 and Areena.

Source: The Nordic Page





Related Posts