Which countries can Russian citizens NOT visit without a visa

Which countries can Russian citizens NOT visit without a visa

Some 90 countries require Russian citizens to have visas to cross their borders.

The Russian passport led 33rd out of 90 on the Global Passport Power Rank and 46th out of 111 in the official passport index ranking composed of Henley & Partners. Still, there are about 90 countries that still require Russian citizens to obtain visas to visit them.

Schengen area

Europe is one of the most popular destinations for Russian tourists. Russians require a visa to travel to the Schengen area, which includes 26 European countries. Traveling to EU Member States, as well as Norway, as a Russian citizen means going through certain visa problems. Countries such as Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland are on the list.

Other European countries

Some European countries are not part of the Schengen area and therefore have an independent visa policy towards Russia. These are Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Ireland, Northern Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine, UK, Vatican City and Kosovo. (However, Russia does not recognize Kosovo as an independent country).

Which countries can Russian citizens NOT visit without a visa

Alexei Kudenko / Sputnik

Of the above countries, only Bulgaria, Croatia, Ireland, Kosovo, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, the United Kingdom and the Vatican City State require Russian nationals to present visas upon entry. Cyprus offers Russian tourists visas on arrival. The other European countries outside the Schengen area have a visa-free system for Russian citizens.

North America

Although many countries in South and Latin America have one visa waiver with Russia, the United States, Canada and Mexico, the three largest countries in North America, requiring visas. However, Mexico offers Russian citizens the opportunity to apply for an electronic visa online.


Some post-Soviet Asian states such as Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, as well as some countries in South Asia such as Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar and South Korea do not require a visa for Russians to visit. Indonesia, a country that normally has a visa-free system for Russian citizens, has temporarily stopped all foreign tourists from entering the country due to Covid-19.

Which countries can Russian citizens NOT visit without a visa

Ilya Pitalev / Sputnik

Traveling to China and Japan requires a visa. Although India will require a visa from Russian travelers, it also offers the possibility to apply for it online. North Korea, one of the most closed countries in the world, also requires Russians who are willing to travel there to get visas.

Australia and New Zealand also require visas for Russians.


Although a number of countries on the African continent either have a visa-free regime with Russia or offer visas on arrival, they travel to Libya, Algeria, Somalia, the DRC, Angola, Sudan and South Sudan, the Central African Republic, Chad, Niger, Mali, Nigeria, Ghana, Liberia, Sierra Leone and other countries in Central and West Africa require visas.

In total it is 87 countries which requires Russians to apply for visas in advance.

Beware: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, some countries may change their policies regarding allowing foreign travelers to enter their borders. Before you travel, check the entry rules for each specific country.

Click here to find out which countries Russian citizens can visit without a visa.

Please enable JavaScript to view
comments are powered by Disqus.

Source: sn.dk

Related Posts: