Nations learn Qatar World Cup fate

Nations learn Qatar World Cup fate

The draw for the 2022 FIFA World Cup has revealed the groups for the countries that will compete in Qatar

The draw for the 2022 World Cup has created a number of exciting group stage competitions, including a clash between the United States and Iran, while the European giants Spain and Germany have ended up in the same group elsewhere.

Defending champions France will face European rivals Denmark in their group, while Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal will face what looks like a tricky passage to the knockout stage in a group that includes Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea.

FIFA’s showpiece tournament will kick off on November 21 with hosts Qatar taking on Ecuador in Group A, which also includes the Netherlands and the African champions in Senegal.

Nevertheless, the 2018 hosts Russia themselves will not play a role in the tournament after a FIFA decision made with UEFA banned Russian teams and clubs from international competitions in response to the country’s military operation in Ukraine on a recommendation from the International Olympic Committee ( IOC).

The Russian Football Federation RFU appealed the verdict, and instead their qualifying semi-finalists Poland got a bye and qualified by beating Sweden 2-0 in the final on Tuesday to join Lionel Messi Argentina, Mexico and Saudi Arabia in Group C.


Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, The Netherlands

Group B: England, USA, Iran, Ukraine / Scotland / Wales

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, UAE / Australia / Peru, Denmark, Tunisia

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica / New Zealand, Germany, Japan

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea



Related Posts: