Canada ratifies Finland, Sweden’s accession protocol, to join NATO

Canada ratifies Finland, Sweden's accession protocol, to join NATO

OTTAWA, July 5 (Xinhua) – Canadian Prime Minister said on Tuesday that is ratifying the accession protocols of and Sweden to join .

“Canada became the first country to ratify the accession protocols of Finland and Sweden to join NATO. This brings the two countries one step closer to full membership,” Trudeau said in a statement.

Trudeau called on all NATO members to act swiftly to complete their ratification processes.

Canada took steps to ratify the Protocols as soon as possible. The lower house has voted unanimously for Finland and Sweden to join the alliance, Trudeau said.

NATO’s 30 allies signed accession protocols for Sweden and Finland on Tuesday, starting the process of letting the two into the alliance, which may pose a serious challenge to global .

Finland and Sweden were formally invited to join NATO at the alliance summit held last week in , , just seven weeks after both countries submitted their applications in response to the conflict between and .

The next step is for the parliaments of all 30 NATO members to ratify Sweden’s and Finland’s accession to NATO, according to their own national procedures.


Related Posts