NATO signs accession protocol for Finland, Sweden

members on Tuesday will sign the accession protocols for and to join the .

Both submitted their applications in May, which broke long-standing non-aligned positions in response to ’s invasion of .

Once the Accession Protocols have been signed, each of NATO’s 30 member states must ratify them according to its individual national procedures.

Both Finland and Sweden have a history of working with NATO as partner countries, including participating in NATO meetings and participating in military exercises.

Some information for this report came from the and .

  • 16x9 picture 16x9 picture

    VOA News



Related Posts